Board Meeting January 21, 2016

AWARD HONORARY DEGREES, URBANA

Action: Award Honorary Doctorate Degrees

Funding: No New Funding Required

The Senate of the Urbana-Champaign campus has recommended that

honorary degrees be conferred on the following people at Commencement Exercises on

May 14, 2016:

Ronald Adrian, the Ira A. Fulton Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Arizona State University -- the honorary degree of Doctor of Engineering

Ronald Adrian received his Ph.D. in 1972 at the University of Cambridge, United Kingdom. Dr. Adrian was a faculty member in the Department of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign from 1972 until 2004. His nominators argue he is the "most important experimental fluid mechanician of the last fifty years." Besides his seminal contributions to fundamental fluid mechanics, Dr. Adrian is the developer of particle image velocimetry (including the concept, the hardware, the methodology, and the software analysis approach). It is an experimental technique that has revolutionized fluid mechanics, and has proved critical in a number of important applications, ranging from blood flow to aerodynamics to the estimation of the flow rate in the Deepwater Horizon blowout. Some of the most prominent honors and awards presented to Dr. Adrian include the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (1996), Fellow of American Academy of Mechanics (2001), Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers (2002), American Physical Society Fluid Dynamics Prize (2005), Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (2007), and American Society of Mechanical Engineers Fluids Engineering Award (2009).

Narayana Murthy, Founder and former Executive Chairman of Infosys Limited -the honorary degree of Doctor of Science

Narayana Murthy, a 1969 graduate of Indian Institute of Technology in Kanpur, India, is the founder and former Executive Chairman of Infosys Limited, a global software consulting company headquartered in Bangalore, India. Mr. Murthy is one of the world's most visionary entrepreneurs and distinguished business leaders. As founder of Infosys Limited, one of the largest and leading IT companies in India, his leadership has transformed the country's economy, putting India on the world stage. His nominators shared that Mr. Murthy "founded Infosys Limited along with six younger colleagues in Bangalore, India in 1981. The founders had to borrow the initial seed capital of about \$250 from their wives, as no bank was willing to fund them. Under Mr. Murthy's leadership, Infosys emerged as a leading provider of IT services globally, and has grown into an organization with revenues of \$6.35 billion, over 600 clients, 133,000 employees, operating in 76 cities in 33 countries, and a market capital of \$37.2 billion." Mr. Murthy has also been described as one of the world's foremost humanitarians. Again, his nominators noted that he "established the Infosys Science Foundation to recognize scientific research and the Infosys Foundation to address the basic needs of the poorest of the poor. The Infosys Foundation has created libraries for poor children in 15,000 villages in India; provided scholarships to thousands of poor children; built hospitals; supported cultural activities, and supported Akshaya Patra, the largest free-lunch program in the world." Some of the notable awards that Mr. Murthy has received include the 2003 Ernst and Young World Entrepreneur of the Year, 2007 Commander of the Order of the British Empire, 2007 Ernst Weber Medal, IEEE, 2008 Legion d'honneur, Government of France, 2010 Foreign Member, U.S. National Academy of Engineering, 2011 NDTV Indian of the Year, and the 2012 Fortune "12 Greatest Entrepreneurs of Our Time".

Jagdish Sheth, Charles H. Kellstadt Professor of Marketing, Emory University -- the honorary degree of Doctor of Science

Jagdish Sheth received his Ph.D. in 1966 at the University of Pittsburgh. He is a legendary scholar in marketing, and one of the foremost management thinkers and consultants in the world. Dr. Sheth has provided consultancy services to companies and governments around the world. While a faculty member at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, he held the Walter H. Stellner Distinguished Professor of Marketing. As noted in his nomination letter, "Dr. Sheth has published more than 300 research papers and books covering areas of marketing, such as consumer behavior, multivariate methods, competitive strategy, relationship marketing, and marketing for emerging markets. His classic book, *The Theory of Buyer Behavior* (1969), with John A. Howard revolutionized the field of Marketing and brought the area of consumer behavior to the forefront. His other scholarly

books include *Marketing Theory: Evolution and Evaluation* (1988) and *Consumption Values and Market Choices* (1991)." Some of the most prominent honors and awards presented to Dr. Sheth include the Paul D. Converse Award, American Marketing Association (1992), Distinguished Fellow, Academy of Marketing Science (1995), Distinguished Fellow, International Engineering Consortium (1997), Outstanding Leadership Award, AMA Foundation (2002), Charles Coolidge Parlin Award, American Marketing Association (2004), Global Management Guru Award, BIMTECH, India (2011), and William Wilkie Award, American Marketing Association (2014).

Edward C. Taylor, the A. Barton Hepburn Professor of Organic Chemistry Emeritus and Senior Research Chemist, Princeton University -- the honorary degree of Doctor of Science

Edward C. Taylor received his Ph.D. in 1949 at Cornell University. His seminal contributions to the fields of heterocyclic chemistry opened up new avenues of investigation for chemical synthesis and studies of the therapeutic potential of hundreds of new classes of organic compounds. Dr. Taylor's investigations of "anti-folates" led to the development of *AlimtaTM*, in collaboration with Eli Lilly, for the treatment of malignant pleural mesothelioma and non-small cell lung cancer. This was the first drug ever approved for the treatment of mesothelioma, a deadly cancer arising from asbestos exposure. Between 2008 and 2012, nearly 50,000 patients with malignant neoplasm of the respiratory tract received treatments containing *AlimtaTM*. Some of the most prominent honors and awards presented to Dr. Taylor include the Thomas Alva Edison Award for Invention (2004), New Jersey Inventors Hall of Fame (2009), American Chemical Society's Alfred Burger Award in Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame (2011), and National Academy of Sciences Award for Chemistry in Service to Society (2013).

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material

respects with applicable State and Federal laws, University of Illinois Statutes, The

General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure, and Board of

Trustees policies and directives.

The Interim Vice President, University of Illinois and Interim Chancellor,

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, concurs in the recommendation.

The President of the University recommends approval.