Board Meeting July 14, 2005

APPOINT PROFESSORS, CENTER FOR ADVANCED STUDY, URBANA

Action: Approve Appointments of Professors in the Center for Advanced Study

Funding: State Appropriated Funds

The Chancellor at Urbana with the recommendation of the Vice Chancellor for Research in consultation with the Professors in the Center, recommends the following faculty members for appointment as Professors¹ in the Center for Advanced Study.

Tamer Basar, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Peter Beak, Chemistry

Bruce Hajek, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Stephen Jaeger, Germanic Languages and Literatures and Comparative Literature

Susan Kieffer, Geology

_

¹Professors in the Center for Advanced Study (Center) are permanent members of the Center community, chosen for their outstanding scholarship. Appointment to a professorship in the Center is the highest academic recognition that the campus can bestow upon a member of its faculty. Center professors continue to serve as full members in their home departments.

Concurrently, the professors in the Center are: Gordon Baym, May R. Berenbaum, Leon Dash, William T. Greenough, Karl Hess, Ian Hobson, Nick Holonyak, Jr., Thomas S. Huang, Marianne Kalinke, Benita S. Katzenellenbogen, Paul C. Lauterbur, Anthony J. Leggett, Vijay R. Pandharipande, Richard S. Powers, Abigail Salyers, Lou van den Dries, and Carl R. Woese.

2

Michael Moore, Law

Dale van Harlingen, Physics

The board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and federal laws, University of Illinois *Statutes, The General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure*, and Board of Trustees policies and directives.

The Vice President for Academic Affairs concurs.

The President of the University recommends approval.