The discussion held in executive session has not been approved for release to the public and has thus been deleted from these minutes.

Press Proof (Not for Publication)

## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## OF THE

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

May 3, 2007

This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held at Hull House Dining Hall, 800 South Halsted, Chicago, Illinois, on Thursday, May 3, 2007, beginning at 5:30 p.m., pursuant to a call by the chair of the Board. The secretary of the Board gave notice of the meeting as prescribed by the bylaws and by Illinois statues.

Chair Lawrence C. Eppley called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present:

Mr. Devon C. Bruce, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Mr. James D.

Montgomery, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah, Mr. Robert Y. Sperling,

Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. The following members of the Board were absent:

Governor Rod Blagojevich, Dr. Frances G. Carroll. Ms. Sarah M. Doyle, voting student trustee from the Springfield campus, was absent. The following nonvoting student trustees were present: Mr. Christopher Kantas, Urbana-Champaign campus;

Mr. Edgar T. Staren, Chicago campus.

Also present were President B. Joseph White, Dr. James D. Anderson,
Gutgsell Professor and head of the Department of Educational Policy Studies, Urbana,

2

and chair of the search committee for a vice president for academic affairs, and

Dr. Michele M. Thompson, secretary.

The purpose of the meeting was to interview candidates for the position of

vice president for academic affairs.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Eppley stated: "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider

a University employee matter."

The motion was made by Mr. Dorris and seconded by Dr. Schmidt and

approved by the following vote: Aye, Mr. Bruce, Mr. Dorris, Mr. Eppley,

Mr. Montgomery, Dr. Schmidt, Mr. Shah, Mr. Sperling, Mr. Vickrey; no, none; absent,

Governor Blagojevich, Dr. Carroll, Ms. Doyle.

(The student advisory vote was: Aye, Mr. Kantas, Mr. Staren; no, none.)

There being no further business, the Board adjourned.

MICHELE M. THOMPSON

Secretary

LAWRENCE C. EPPLEY

Chair