The discussion held in executive session has not been approved for release to the public and has thus been deleted from these minutes.

Press Proof (Not for Publication)

### SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

#### OF THE

#### UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

## September 28, 2007

This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held in the General Lounge, Illini Union, Urbana campus, Urbana, Illinois, on Friday, September 28, 2007, beginning at 3:35 p.m., pursuant to a call by the chair of the Board. The secretary of the Board gave notice of the meeting as prescribed by the bylaws and by Illinois statute.

Chair Lawrence C. Eppley called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present:

Dr. Frances G. Carroll, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Mr. Robert Y. Sperling, Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. The following members of the Board were absent: Governor Rod Blagojevich, Mr. Devon C. Bruce, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah. Mr. Chime Asonye, voting student trustee from the Urbana-Champaign campus, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were present: Ms. Sarah M. Doyle, Springfield campus; Mr. Faizan Shakeel, Chicago campus.

Also present were President B. Joseph White, Mr. Lester H. McKeever, Jr., and Dr. Michele M. Thompson, secretary.

The purpose of the meeting was to hold a retreat for the Board to discuss and evaluate the performance of the president and the University officers.

# MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Eppley stated: "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider University employee matters."

The motion was made by Mr. Montgomery, seconded by Mr. Dorris, and approved by the following vote: Aye, Mr. Asonye, Dr. Carroll, Mr. Dorris, Mr. Eppley, Mr. Montgomery, Mr. Sperling, Mr. Vickrey; no, none; absent, Governor Blagojevich, Mr. Bruce, Dr. Schmidt, Mr. Shah.

(The student advisory vote was: Aye, Ms. Doyle, Mr. Shakeel; no, none.)

There being no further business, the Board adjourned.

 LAWRENCE C. EPPLEY
Chair