5

Board Meeting November 14, 2013

APPOINT MEMBER TO THE ATHLETIC BOARD, URBANA

Action: Approve Appointment to the Athletic Board

Funding: No New Funding Required

On recommendation of the Chancellor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Vice President, University of Illinois, Professor Harley Johnson (Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering) has been nominated to complete the term of Professor Rayvon Fouché which will expire in 2014. (A biographical sketch for the nominee is attached.) Professor Fouché resigned his position to accept a position at another institution. The current Athletic Board includes alumni Carrie Casper, Audwin Rowe, Gavin Sontag, and Richard Stockton; faculty members Cleo d'Arcy, Vicente Diaz, Adrienne Dixson, Michael Raycraft, Brent Roberts, and Tom Ulen; students McKennon Biers, Sarah Hartwell, and Nisar Qureshi; and faculty athletic representatives Christopher Span and Matt Wheeler.

The Athletic Board is a committee concerned with intercollegiate athletics at the Urbana-Champaign campus. In its oversight of the academic and educational aspects of the intercollegiate athletics program, it is a committee of the Urbana-Champaign Senate. The board also serves as an advisory committee to the

Chancellor and the Athletic Director on the financial management, personnel, and other operational aspects of the intercollegiate athletics program.

The board consists of nineteen members: two faculty representatives to the Big Ten; seven other faculty members; four alumni of the Urbana-Champaign campus; three students; and three *ex officio* members without a vote: a designee of the Chancellor, the University Comptroller or designee, and the Athletic Director. A slate of faculty nominees is provided to the Chancellor by the Urbana-Champaign Senate. The slate of student nominees is provided to the Chancellor by the Urbana-Champaign Senate, the Illinois Student Senate, and the Student Athletic Advisory Board to fill one student position each. The slate of alumni is provided by the Urbana Campus Alumni Advisory Board. The Chancellor reviews the lists of nominees and forwards recommendations to the President of the University for action by the Board of Trustees.

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and Federal laws, University of Illinois *Statutes, The General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure*, and Board of Trustees policies and directives.

The President of the University concurs.

Harley Johnson--Professor, Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering, term ending in 2014

Professor Johnson has been with the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign since 2001 and is currently the Kritzer Faculty Scholar and serving as Associate Head of Graduate Programs in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering. His scope of research includes the studies of mechanics of electronic and phototonic materials, the mechanics of nanostructures, and the optimal properties of materials. Professor Johnson has received several awards including the National Science Foundation CAREER award and the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator award. He has been included on the List of Teachers Ranked as Excellent by Their Students seven times. As a student, he was an experienced Division I student athlete who competed in track and field and cross country for four years at Georgia Tech and was a four-year varsity letter recipient.