Approved by the Board of Trustees November 14, 2013

WWT 2

Board Meeting November 14, 2013

APPROVE APPOINTMENTS TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF WOLCOTT, WOOD AND TAYLOR, INC.

Action: Approve Appointments to the Board of Directors of Wolcott, Wood and

Taylor, Inc., Pursuant to the WWT Bylaws

Funding: No New Funding Required

Pursuant to Article II, Section 2.2(b) and Article III, Section 3.2 of the Bylaws of Wolcott, Wood and Taylor, Inc. ("WWT"), The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois, as the sole member of WWT, has the authority to approve: (1) the appointment to the WWT Board of Directors (the "WWT Board") of a Clinical Department Head, as nominated from time to time by the Executive Committee of the College of Medicine Medical Service Plan (the "MSP"), elected by the sole member for a two-year term; and (2) the appointment to the WWT Board of up to five individuals selected by the Interim Vice President for Health Affairs (the "VPHA"), at least one of whom shall be a person with financial expertise, elected annually by the sole member.

The WWT Bylaws require that the WWT Board consist of no less than seven individuals. There are currently seven individuals serving on the WWT Board, including three individuals selected by the VPHA:

• Dimitri Azar, M.D., Dean of the College of Medicine and Chair of the WWT Board (*ex officio*);

- Jerry L. Bauman, PharmD, Interim Vice President for Health Affairs (*ex officio*);
- Lon Kaufman, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Provost (designee of the Chancellor/Vice President of the Chicago Campus of the University);
- Fady T. Charbel, M.D., Clinical Department Head and Chief of Service for Neurosurgery (selected by the Executive Committee of the MSP and elected by the sole member for a two-year term effective December 2, 2011);
- Bryan Neil Becker, M.D., Associate Vice President for Hospital Operations (selected by the VPHA and elected by the sole member for a one-year term effective September 12, 2013);
- Avijit Ghosh, Ph.D., Professor at the College of Business at Urbana-Champaign and Senior Advisor to the President (person with *financial expertise* selected by the VPHA and elected by the sole member for a oneyear term effective September 12, 2013);
- Jaewon Ryu, M.D., J.D., Associate Vice President for Professional Practice and Chief Medical Officer (selected by the VPHA and elected by the sole member for a one-year term effective September 12, 2013).

The Executive Committee of the MSP recommends Fady T. Charbel, M.D., to be elected by the sole member to the WWT Board for another two-year term, effective December 2, 2013.

Due to the resignation of William L. Devoney, the VPHA recommends Robert A. Winn, M.D., Associate Vice President for Community Based Practice, to be elected by the sole member to the WWT Board for a one-year term, effective immediately.

Due to the resignation of William L. Devoney, the VPHA designates current WWT Board member Avijit Ghosh, Ph.D., Professor at the College of Business at

Urbana-Champaign and Senior Advisor to the President, as the person with financial expertise selected by the VPHA.

Brief biographical information of Dr. Charbel and Dr. Winn is attached.

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and federal laws, University of Illinois Statutes, the General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure, and The Board of Trustees policies and directives.

FADY T. CHARBEL, M.D.

Clinical Department Head and Chief of Service for Neurosurgery Nominated by the Executive Committee of the MSP to serve a two-year term effective December 2, 2013

Education

• St. Joseph's University, Beirut, Lebanon, M.D., 1984

Professional Experience

- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery, 1993-98
- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Associate Professor, Neurosurgery, 1998-2001
- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Chief, Divisions of Cerebrovascular Surgery and Critical Care, 1999-date
- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Professor, Neurosurgery, 2001-date
- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Clinical Department Head and Chief of Service, Neurosurgery, 2002-date

ROBERT A. WINN, M.D.

Associate Vice President for Community Based Practice Nominated by the Interim Vice President for Health Affairs to serve a one-year term effective immediately upon approval by the sole member

Education

- University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, B.A., 1987
- University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, MI, M.D., 1993
- Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center, Chicago, IL, Internal Medicine Internship, 1993-94
- Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center, Chicago, IL, Internal Medicine Residency, 1994-96
- Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center, Chicago, IL, Chief Resident, Internal Medicine, 1996-97
- University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, CO, Fellowship in Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care, 1997-2000

Professional Experience

- Rush-Presbyterian-St. Luke's Medical Center, Chicago, IL, Instructor in Medicine, 1996-97
- University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, CO, Instructor, Department of Medicine, 2000-01
- Denver Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Denver, CO, Attending Staff Physician, 2000-13
- University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, CO, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care, 2001-06
- Denver Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Denver, CO, Director Pulmonary Function and Exercise Testing Laboratory, 2001-13
- University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, CO, Staff Investigator and Faculty appointment on Cardio-Vascular-Pulmonary Training Grant and Laboratory, 2001-13
- University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, CO, Staff Physician, Multidisciplinary Lung Cancer Clinic, 2002-07
- University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, CO, University of Colorado Comprehensive Cancer Center, 2002-12
- University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, CO, Secondary Faculty appointment, Department of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, 2002-13

- University of Colorado School of Medicine, Denver, CO, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care, 2007-12
- University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, CO, Faculty appointment, Graduate School Training Program, Cancer Biology Department, 2008-13
- University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, CO, Assistant Dean of Admissions, School of Medicine, 2008-10
- University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, CO, Associate Dean of Admissions, School of Medicine, 2010-13
- University of Colorado-Anschutz Medical Campus Multi-Disciplinary Pulmonary Nodule Clinic, Aurora, CO, Senior Medical Director (Co-Founder), 2008-12
- University of Colorado School-Anschutz Medical Campus, Aurora, CO, Faculty appointment on Head and Neck Cancer Training Grant, 2009-13
- University of Colorado, Aurora, CO, Vice Chair of Career Development/Diversity Inclusion, Department of Medicine, 2011-12
- University of Colorado School of Medicine, Aurora, CO, Advisor to Undergraduate Medical Education, Admissions, School of Medicine, 2012-date
- Jesse Brown Veterans Affairs Medical Center, Chicago, IL, Attending Staff Physician, 2012-date
- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Professor with Tenure, Department of Medicine, Division of Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care, 2012-date
- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Director of Lung Cancer Program, 2012-date
- University of Illinois, Chicago, IL, Associate Vice President for Community Based Practice, 2012-date