The discussion held in executive session has not been approved for release to the public and has thus been deleted from these minutes.

Press Proof (Not for Publication)

## EMERGENCY MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## OF THE

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

June 25, 2009

This emergency meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held in Rooms 206 A and B, UIC Student Center West, Chicago campus, Chicago, Illinois, on Thursday, June 25, 2009, beginning at 11:20 a.m., pursuant to a call by the chair of the Board. The secretary gave notice of the meeting as prescribed by the Bylaws and by Illinois statute.

Chair Niranjan S. Shah called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Devon C. Bruce, Dr. Frances G. Carroll, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Mr. Edward L. McMillan, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah, Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. Governor Pat Quinn was absent. Mr. D. Craig McFarland, voting student trustee from the Springfield campus, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were absent: Mr. Elias Pittos; Mr. Paul D. Schmitt.

Also present were: President B. Joseph White; Mr. Thomas R. Bearrows, university counsel; Dr. Michele M. Thompson, secretary.

2

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Shah, referring to Section Two of the Open Meetings Act, stated: "A motion is

now in order to hold an executive session to consider information regarding University

employee matters; and pending, probable or imminent litigation against, affecting, or on

behalf of the University."

The motion was made by Dr. Carroll, seconded by Mr. Bruce, and

approved.

**EXECUTIVE SESSION ADJOURNED** 

There being no further business, the executive session was adjourned.

**BOARD MEETING RESUMED** 

The Board meeting resumed briefly in regular session in order to adjourn in an open

session.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned.

MICHELE M. THOMPSON

Secretary

NIRANJAN S. SHAH
Chair