MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AS THE SOLE MEMBER OF PRAIRIELAND ENERGY, INC.

May 17, 2018

This meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois as the sole member of Prairieland Energy, Inc., was held in Room 224, Student Union, 2251 Richard Wright Drive, Springfield, Illinois, on Thursday, May 17, 2018, beginning at 8:00 a.m.

Chair Timothy N. Koritz called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Ramón Cepeda, Mr. Donald J. Edwards, Mr. Patrick J. Fitzgerald,¹ Dr. Stuart C. King, Dr. Timothy N. Koritz, Mr. Edward L. McMillan, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Mr. Sanford E. Perl, Ms. Jill B. Smart. Governor Bruce Rauner was absent. Ms. Karina Reyes, voting student trustee, Chicago, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were in attendance: Mr. Trayshawn M. W. Mitchell, Urbana, and Ms. Shaina Humphrey, Springfield. President Timothy L. Killeen was present.

Also present were the officers of the Board: Mr. Lester H. McKeever Jr., treasurer; Dr. Avijit Ghosh, interim comptroller (and vice president/chief financial officer); Mr. Thomas R. Bearrows, University counsel; and Ms. Dedra M. Williams, secretary of the Board of Trustees and of the University.

¹ Mr. Fitzgerald participated via telephone.

Dr. Koritz asked the secretary to read the titles of the items on the agenda to be considered. By consensus, the Board agreed that one voice vote would be taken.

(The record of the Board action appears at the end of each item.)

Approve Minutes of Prairieland Energy, Inc., Meeting

The secretary presents for approval the minutes of the Prairieland Energy,
Inc., meeting of November 16, 2017.

On motion of Mr. Montgomery, seconded by Ms. Smart, these minutes were approved.

Appoint Directors, Prairieland Energy, Inc.

(2) The University procures energy commodity and related energy services from market sources through Prairieland Energy, Inc. (Prairieland), a University-Related Organization. Prairieland was approved by the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois (Board of Trustees) in September 1996 to provide low-cost energy for the benefit of the University and others. Prairieland provides an efficient vehicle for flexible, nimble, and real-time participation in wholesale energy markets, resulting in cost savings and other benefits to the University. The Board of Trustees is the sole member of Prairieland, and as such is responsible for appointing directors to the Prairieland board.

The Board of Trustees appointed John Coronado to serve as the vice chancellor for administrative services in Chicago on March 15, 2018. The University president nominates the individual serving in this position to serve as a Prairieland director. Michael Landek, interim vice chancellor for administrative services at Chicago, has been serving on the Prairieland board on an interim basis since May 2017. Pursuant to its authority, the Board of Trustees hereby appoints John Coronado to serve as Prairieland director.

The Prairieland bylaws provide for three "at-large" seats on the Prairieland board, with at least two of the three being independent from the University. One of the independent seats is open and the Prairieland board recommends the appointment of Doug Brown, chief utility engineer and acting general manager for Springfield City Water, Light, and Power. Pursuant to its authority, the Board of Trustees hereby appoints Doug Brown to serve as an independent Prairieland director for a three-year term.

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and federal laws, University of Illinois *Statutes*, *The General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure*, and Board of Trustees policies and directives.

On motion of Mr. Montgomery, seconded by Ms. Smart, these appointments were approved.

3

MOTION TO ADJOURN MEETING

On motion of Mr. Mitchell, seconded by Ms. Smart, the meeting adjourned at 8:02 a.m. There were no "nay" votes.