## SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## OF THE

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

October 5, 2005

This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was conducted telephonically on Wednesday, October 5, 2005, beginning at 3:10 p.m., pursuant to a call by the chair of the board. The secretary of the board gave notice of the meeting as prescribed by the bylaws of the Board of Trustees and by Illinois Statute.

Chair Lawrence C. Eppley called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the board were present: Mr. Devon C. Bruce, Dr. Frances G. Carroll, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mrs. Marjorie E. Sodemann, Mr. Robert Y. Sperling, Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. The following members of the board were absent: Governor Rod Blagojevich, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah. Mr. Nicholas W. Klitzing,<sup>1</sup> voting student trustee from the Urbana-Champaign campus, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were present: Mr. Shumail Alam, Chicago campus; Ms. Carrie M. Bauer, Springfield campus.

In addition, the following persons joined the call: President B. Joseph White; Dr. Sylvia Manning, chancellor, University of Illinois at Chicago; Mr. Thomas R.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Mr. Klitzing joined the conference call at 3:15 p.m.

Bearrows, university counsel; Dr. William H. Chamberlin, chief medical officer, University Hospital; Mr. John J. DeNardo, CEO, HealthCare System, Chicago; Dr. Joseph A. Flaherty, dean, College of Medicine and Dr. Michele M. Thompson, secretary.

## MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Eppley stated: "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider the following subjects: University employee matters; pending, probable, or imminent litigation against, affecting, or on behalf of the University."

The motion was made by Mr. Sperling and approved by the following vote: Aye, Mr. Bruce, Dr. Carroll, Mr. Dorris, Mr. Eppley, Mr. Klitzing, Dr. Schmidt, Mrs. Sodemann, Mr. Sperling, Mr. Vickrey; no, none; absent, Governor Blagojevich, Mr. Shah.

(The student advisory vote was: Aye, Mr. Alam, Ms. Bauer; no, none.)

There being no further business, the board adjourned.

MICHELE M. THOMPSON Secretary LAWRENCE C. EPPLEY Chair