MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

AS THE SOLE MEMBER OF

PRAIRIELAND ENERGY, INC.

November 10, 2016

This meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois as the sole member of Prairieland Energy, Inc., was held in the Michèle M. Thompson Rooms B and C, UIC Student Center West, 828 South Wolcott Avenue, Chicago, Illinois, on Thursday, November 10, 2016, beginning at 8:01 a.m.

Chair Edward L McMillan called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present:

Mr. Ricardo Estrada, Mr. Patrick J. Fitzgerald, Ms. Karen Hasara, Ms. Patricia Brown Holmes, Dr. Timothy N. Koritz, Mr. Edward L. McMillan, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Ms. Jill B. Smart. Mr. Ramón Cepeda and Governor Bruce Rauner were absent. Mr. Collin T. Schumock, voting student trustee, Urbana, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were present: Mr. Jauwan Hall, Chicago, and Mr. Nathan C. Hoffman, Springfield. President Timothy L. Killeen was present.

Also present were Mr. Lester H. McKeever Jr., treasurer; Mr. Walter K. Knorr, comptroller (and vice president/chief financial officer); Mr. Thomas R. Bearrows, University counsel; and Ms. Dedra M. Williams, secretary of the Board of Trustees and of the University.

Mr. McMillan asked the secretary to read the titles of the items on the agenda to be considered. Ms. Williams read: "Approve Minutes of Prairieland Energy, Inc., Meeting" and "Appoint Director, Prairieland Energy, Inc." By consensus, the Board agreed that one voice vote would be taken.

(The record of the Board action appears at the end of each item.)

Approve Minutes of Prairieland Energy, Inc., Meeting

(1) The secretary presents for approval the minutes of the Prairieland Energy, Inc., meeting of November 12, 2015.

On motion of Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Ms. Hasara, these minutes were approved.

Appoint Director, Prairieland Energy, Inc.

The University procures energy commodity and related energy services from market sources through Prairieland Energy, Inc. (Prairieland), a University-Related Organization. Prairieland was authorized by the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois (the Board of Trustees) in September 1996 to provide low-cost energy for the benefit of the University and others. It provides an efficient vehicle for flexible, nimble, and real-time participation in wholesale energy markets, resulting in cost savings and other benefits to the University. The Board of Trustees is the sole member of Prairieland and as such is responsible for appointing directors to the Prairieland Board.

Allan Stratman resigned from the Prairieland board in May 2016. As prescribed in the amended and restated Bylaws, Article III, Section 3.3, the Board of Trustees as the sole member has the reserved power to appoint Prairieland's board of directors. Pursuant to this authority, the Board of Trustees hereby appoints Helen Coleman, interim executive director of Facilities and Services at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, to serve as Prairieland director.

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and federal laws, University of Illinois *Statutes*, *The General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure*, and Board of Trustees policies and directives.

On motion of Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Ms. Hasara, this recommendation was approved.

MOTION TO ADJOURN MEETING

On motion of Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Mr. Estrada, the meeting adjourned at 8:03 a.m. There were no "nay" votes.