MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

AS THE SOLE MEMBER OF

PRAIRIELAND ENERGY, INC.

May 19, 2022

This meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois as the sole member of Prairieland Energy, Inc., was held via teleconference¹ on Thursday, May 19, 2022, beginning at 8:01 a.m.

Chair Donald J. Edwards stated that he, as chair of the Board of Trustees, determined that an in-person meeting would not be practical or prudent due to COVID-19 and that under Section 7(e)(2) of the Open Meetings Act, this meeting would be held virtually. He called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Ms. Tami Craig Schilling, Mr. Donald J. Edwards, Mr. Ricardo Estrada, Ms. Naomi D. Jakobsson, Dr. Stuart C. King, Ms. Sarah C. Phalen. Mr. Ramón Cepeda, Ms. Patricia Brown Holmes, and Governor J. B. Pritzker were absent. Mr. Austin Verthein, voting student trustee, Springfield, was present. The following nonvoting student trustee was in attendance: Mr. Lavleen Mal, student trustee, Chicago. Ms. Mariama Mwilambwe, student trustee, Urbana, was absent. President Timothy L. Killeen was present.

Also present were the officers of the Board: Mr. Lester H. McKeever Jr., treasurer; Dr. Paul N. Ellinger, interim comptroller (and vice president/chief financial

¹ Per Governor J. B. Pritzker's April 29, 2022, Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamation and 5 ILCS 120/7(e).

officer); Mr. Thomas R. Bearrows, University counsel; and Mr. Gregory J. Knott, secretary of the Board of Trustees and of the University.

Mr. Edwards asked the secretary to read the titles of the items on the agenda to be considered. By consensus, the Board agreed that one roll call vote² would be taken.

(The record of the Board action appears at the end of each item.)

Approve Minutes of the Board of Trustees as the Sole Member of Prairieland Energy, Inc., Meeting

(1) The secretary presents for approval the minutes of the Board of Trustees as the sole member of Prairieland Energy, Inc., meeting of September 23, 2021.

On motion of Mr. Estrada, seconded by Ms. Jakobsson, these minutes were approved by the following vote: Aye, Ms. Craig Schilling, Mr. Edwards, Mr. Estrada, Ms. Jakobsson, Dr. King, Ms. Phalen, Mr. Verthein; No, none; Absent, Mr. Cepeda, Ms. Holmes, Governor Pritzker.

(The student advisory vote was: Aye, Mr. Mal; Absent, Ms. Mwilambwe.)

Appoint Directors, Prairieland Energy, Inc.

(2) The University procures energy commodity and related energy services from market sources through Prairieland Energy, Inc. (Prairieland), a University-Related Organization. Prairieland was approved by the Board of Trustees of the University of

² Per 5 ILCS 120/7(e), all votes are conducted by roll call.

Illinois (Board of Trustees) in September 1996 to provide low-cost energy for the benefit of the University and others. Prairieland provides an efficient vehicle for flexible, nimble, and real-time participation in wholesale energy markets, resulting in cost savings and other benefits to the University. The Board of Trustees is the sole member of Prairieland, and as such is responsible for appointing directors and certain officer positions to the Prairieland board.

Michael B. Bass has served as director and vice chair since January 2015.

Mr. Bass will soon retire from the University of Illinois System after more than 20 years of service. Pursuant to Prairieland Energy, Inc. Bylaws, the chair of Prairieland Energy, Inc. must nominate a vice chair. Accordingly, chair and University trustee Dr. Stuart C. King nominates Dr. Paul N. Ellinger, interim vice president/chief financial officer and comptroller of the University of Illinois System to serve as vice chair.

Also pursuant to its authority, the Board of Trustees hereby appoints Joda Morton to serve as Prairieland director to replace Michael B. Bass. Ms. Morton is the director of Enterprise Risk Management for the University of Illinois System and is being appointed for a three-year term.

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and federal laws, University of Illinois *Statutes*, *The General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure*, and Board of Trustees policies and directives.

On motion of Mr. Estrada, seconded by Ms. Jakobsson, these appointments were approved by the following vote: Aye, Ms. Craig Schilling, Mr. Edwards, Mr.

Estrada, Ms. Jakobsson, Dr. King, Ms. Phalen, Mr. Verthein; No, none; Absent, Mr. Cepeda, Ms. Holmes, Governor Pritzker.

(The student advisory vote was: Aye, Mr. Mal; Absent, Ms. Mwilambwe.)

MOTION TO ADJOURN MEETING

On motion of Dr. King, the meeting adjourned at 8:05 a.m. by the following vote: Aye, Ms. Craig Schilling, Mr. Edwards, Mr. Estrada, Ms. Jakobsson, Dr. King, Mr. Mal, Ms. Phalen, Mr. Verthein; No, none; Absent, Mr. Cepeda, Ms. Holmes, Ms. Mwilambwe, Governor Pritzker.