Board Meeting November 8, 2012

APPOINT INTERIM DEAN, COLLEGE OF PUBLIC AFFAIRS AND ADMINISTRATION, SPRINGFIELD

Action:	Approve Appointment of Interim Dean, College of Public Affairs and Administration
Funding:	State Appropriated Funds

The Vice President, University of Illinois and Chancellor, University of Illinois at Springfield has recommended the appointment of William H. Miller, currently Professor and Department Chair, Department of Public Administration, as Interim Dean, College of Public Affairs and Administration, non-tenured, on a twelve-month service basis, with a monthly administrative increment of \$1,800, beginning January 1, 2013, through June 30, 2013.

Dr. Miller will continue to hold the rank of Professor of Public Administration, on indefinite tenure, on an academic year basis, on 100 percent time, at an annual salary of \$95,756, effective August 16, 2012; and Department Chair, Department of Public Administration, non-tenured, on an academic year service basis, with a summer administrative increment of \$10,640, for a total annual salary of \$117,196. Dr. Miller succeeds Pinky S. Wassenberg, who has served as Dean since 2006, and who plans to return to the faculty as Professor of Political Science on January 1, 2013.

The Board action recommended in this item complies in all material respects with applicable State and feral laws, University of Illinois *Statutes*, *The General Rules Concerning University Organization and Procedure*, and Board of Trustees policies and directives.

The Vice President for Academic Affairs concurs.

The President of the University recommends approval.

WILLIAM H. MILLER

Education

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville, B.A., 1973 Eden Theological Seminary, Webster Groves, Missouri, M.Div., 1977 Saint Louis University, Missouri, Ph.D., 1991

Professional or Other Experience

Saint Louis University, Missouri, 1990, Adjunct Lecturer, Ethics and Public Policy Administration for Public Policy Program

U.S. Equal Opportunity Commission, 1996-2004, Research Analyst, EEO-4; 2006-08, Research Analyst, EEO-5

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock, 2002-07, Professor, Department of Health Policy and Management; 2003-07, Founding Faculty Member, Clinton School of Public Service

University of Arkansas Main Campus, Fayetteville, 1991, Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science; 1992-98, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science; 1998-2005, Associate Professor, Department of Political Science; 1999-2007, Founding Director, Public Policy Ph.D. Program; 2005-07, Professor, Department of Political Science

University of Illinois at Springfield, 2007-10, Associate Professor, Department of Public Administration; 2007-date, Department Chair, Department of Public Administration; 2010-date, Professor, Department of Public Administration