CAMPUS SENATE AY2008/2009 RESOLUTION 38-22

Proposed Changes to the UIS Constitution

Changes to Section 3. The Campus Senate

Section 3. The Campus Senate

The Campus Senate shall consist of the elected representatives of the above named electorates. The faculty shall elect twenty senators who shall be apportioned to the Colleges and the Library based on a ratio of one senator for every fifteen full time faculty in the unit except that each College will have a minimum of two Senators and the Library will have a minimum of one senator elected by the faculty of the respective units. The remaining Senators will be elected by the faculty at large. No college shall have more than one half of the total faculty senators. Faculty Senators shall serve two-year terms, one-half being elected each year. The Students shall elect five members and three alternates. Student Senators shall serve one-year terms. The Staff, Administration and Academic Professionals shall each elect one member who shall serve a two-year term. The Provost shall be an ex-officio, non-voting member. All Vice Chancellors, Associate Vice Chancellors, Directors, Deans, and executive officers of comparable academic, administrative, and service units who are not members of the Senate shall have the privilege of the floor on matters of concern to their units when such matters are before the Senate for debate. The Campus Senate shall be the representative, deliberative, and consultative voice of the Campus Community on matters of educational policy.

Every four years, the Senate Executive Committee shall recalculate the total number of faculty senators and their apportionment and submit any recommendations for change to the Senate.