SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

OF THE

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

April 16, 2005



This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held at the University Club, 76 East Monroe, Chicago, Illinois, on Saturday, April 16, 2005, beginning at 3:10 p.m., pursuant to call by the chair of the board. The secretary of the board gave notice of the meeting as prescribed by the bylaws of the Board of Trustees and by Illinois Statute.

Chair Lawrence C. Eppley called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the board were present¹: Mr. Devon C. Bruce, Dr. Frances G. Carroll, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mrs. Marjorie E. Sodemann, Mr. Robert Y. Sperling, Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. The following members of the board were absent: Governor Rod Blagojevich, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah. Ms. Natalie A. Garcia, voting student trustee from the Chicago campus, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were present: Mr. Matthew T. Diller, Urbana-Champaign campus; Mr. Andrew M. Holling-sead, Springfield campus.

Also present were: President B. Joseph White; Dr. James D. Anderson, professor and head, Department of Educational Policy Studies; professor of

 $^{^{1}}$ Mrs. Sodemann participated in the meeting telephonically. Dr. Carroll was present for the interviews with the first and third candidates. Mr. Sperling left the meeting at 4:50 p.m., shortly after the beginning of the interview with the second candidate.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

history, Urbana, chair of the Search Committee to Advise the President on the Selection of a Chancellor at the Urbana-Champaign Campus; and Dr. Michele M. Thompson, secretary.

The purpose of the meeting was to interview candidates for the position of chancellor at Urbana.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Eppley, referring to Section Two of the Open Meetings Act, stated: "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider a matter of employment."

The motion was made by Mr. Vickrey and approved by the following vote: Aye, Mr. Bruce, Dr. Carroll, Mr. Dorris, Mr. Eppley, Ms. Garcia, Dr. Schmidt, Mrs. Sodemann, Mr. Sperling, Mr. Vickrey; no, none; absent, Governor Blagojevich, Mr. Shah.

(The student advisory vote was: Aye, Mr. Diller, Mr. Hollingsead; no, none.)

EXECUTIVE SESSION

A CONTINUING NEED FOR CONFIDENTIALITY EXISTS FOR THIS SECTION.

236

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

237

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

[April 16

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

239

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

[April 16

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

241

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

[April 16

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

243

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

[April 16

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

245

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

[April 16

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

247

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

A CONTINUING NEED FOR CONFIDENTIALITY EXISTS FOR THIS SECTION.

There being no further business, the board adjourned.

MICHELE M. THOMPSON Secretary LAWRENCE C. EPPLEY Chair

248