MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

OF THE

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

September 15, 2006



This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held in Room 210, Illini Union, Urbana campus, Urbana, Illinois, on Friday, September 15, 2006, beginning at 2:05 p.m.

Chair Lawrence C. Eppley called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Devon C. Bruce,¹ Dr. Frances G. Carroll, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah,² Mr. Robert Y. Sperling, Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. The following members of the Board were absent: Governor Rod Blagojevich, Mrs. Marjorie E. Sodemann. Ms. Sarah M. Doyle, voting student trustee from the Springfield campus, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were present: Mr. Christopher Kantas, Urbana-Champaign campus; Mr. Umair Mamsa, Chicago campus.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Eppley stated: "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider University employee matters."

The motion was made by Mr. Mamsa and approved by the following vote: Aye, Mr. Bruce, Dr. Carroll, Mr. Dorris, Ms. Doyle, Mr. Eppley, Dr. Schmidt, Mr. Sperling, Mr. Vickrey; no, none; absent, Governor Blagojevich, Mr. Shah, Mrs. Sodemann.

¹ Mr. Bruce participated in the meeting telephonically.

² Mr. Shah joined the meeting at 3:05 p.m.

(The student advisory vote was: Aye, Mr. Kantas, Mr. Mamsa; no, none.)

There being no further business, the Board adjourned.

MICHELE M. THOMPSON

Secretary

LAWRENCE C. EPPLEY
Chair