SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

OF THE

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

May 7, 2008



This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held on Wednesday, May 7, 2008, beginning at 9:45 a.m., in Room 19, Chicago Club, 81 East Van Buren Street, Chicago, Illinois, pursuant to a call by the chair of the Board. The secretary of the Board gave notice of the meeting as prescribed by the bylaws and by Illinois statute.

Chair Lawrence C. Eppley called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Devon C. Bruce, Dr. Frances G. Carroll, Mr. David V. Dorris, Mr. Lawrence C. Eppley, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Dr. Kenneth D. Schmidt, Mr. Niranjan S. Shah, Mr. Robert Y. Sperling, Mr. Robert F. Vickrey. Governor Rod Blagojevich was absent. Mr. Chime Asonye, voting student trustee from the Urbana-Champaign campus, was absent. The following nonvoting student trustees were absent: Ms. Sarah M. Doyle, Springfield campus; Mr. Faizan Shakeel, Chicago campus.

Also present were President B. Joseph White; Dr. Mrinalini Rao, vice president for academic affairs; Professor Elliot Kaufman, chair of the search committee that advised the president; Ms. Ellen Brown and Mr. Nathaniel Sutton, both of whom assisted the search process from the executive search firm of Heidrick & Struggles, and Dr. Michele M. Thompson, secretary. The purpose of the meeting was to interview candidates for the position of chancellor of the University of Illinois at Chicago.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Eppley stated: "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider information regarding a University employee matter.

The motion was made by Mr. Eppley and approved by the following vote: Aye, Mr. Bruce, Dr. Carroll, Mr. Dorris, Mr. Eppley, Mr. Montgomery, Dr. Schmidt, Mr. Shah, Mr. Sperling, Mr. Vickrey; no, none; absent, Mr. Asonye, Governor Blagojevich.

(The student advisory vote was: Absent, Ms. Doyle, Mr. Shakeel.)

EXECUTIVE SESSION

833

2008]

835

There being no further business, the Board adjourned.

MICHELE M. THOMPSON Secretary LAWRENCE C. EPPLEY Chair