OF THE

UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

November 11, 2014



This meeting of the Board of Trustees was held in the London Room at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare, 9300 Bryn Mawr Avenue, Rosemont, Illinois, on Tuesday, November 11, 2014, beginning at 9:04 a.m.

Chair Christopher G. Kennedy called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Ricardo Estrada, Mr. Patrick J. Fitzgerald, Ms. Karen Hasara, Ms. Patricia Brown Holmes, Mr. Christopher G. Kennedy, Dr. Timothy N. Koritz, Mr. Edward L. McMillan, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Ms. Pamela B. Strobel. Governor Pat Quinn was absent. Ms. Danielle M. Leibowitz, voting student trustee from the Chicago campus, was present. The following nonvoting student trustees were present: Mr. Lucas N. Frye, Urbana campus; Ms. Hannah Cave, Springfield campus.

Also present were Mr. Thomas R. Bearrows, University counsel; Mr. Thomas P. Hardy, executive director for University relations; Dr. Susan M. Kies, secretary of the Board of Trustees and of the University; Ms. Jami M. Painter, assistant vice president for human resources; Dr. Douglas H. Beck, cochair of the Search Committee to Assist in the Selection of a President; and Ms. Laurie Wilder and Ms. Porsha Williams from Parker Executive Search.

Mr. Kennedy provided a welcome.

MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 9:07 a.m., Mr. Kennedy stated, "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider University employment or appointment-related matters." On motion of Mr. Montgomery, seconded by Ms. Holmes, this was approved. There were no "nay" votes.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

A CONTINUING NEED FOR CONFIDENTIALITY EXISTS FOR THIS SECTION.

A CONTINUING NEED FOR CONFIDENTIALITY EXISTS FOR THIS SECTION.

EXECUTIVE SESSION ADJOURNED

The executive session adjourned at 4:07 p.m.

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mr. Kennedy then requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. On motion of Mr. Estrada, seconded by Ms. Leibowitz, the meeting adjourned at 4:08 p.m. There were no "nay" votes.

Susan M. Kies
Secretary

Christopher G. Kennedy Chair