#### SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

OF THE

# **UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS**

July 9, 2016



This meeting of the Board of Trustees was held in Room 2025, Hilton Chicago O'Hare Airport Hotel, O'Hare International Airport, Chicago, Illinois, on Saturday, July 9, 2016, beginning at 9:01 a.m.

Chair Edward L. McMillan convened the meeting and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Patrick J. Fitzgerald, Ms. Karen Hasara, Ms. Patricia Brown Holmes, Dr. Timothy N. Koritz, Mr. Edward L. McMillan, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Ms. Jill B. Smart. Mr. Ramón Cepeda, Mr. Ricardo Estrada, and Governor Bruce Rauner were absent. Mr. Nathan C. Hoffman, student trustee from the University of Illinois at Springfield, and Mr. Collin T. Schumock, voting student trustee from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, were present. Mr. Jauwan Hall, student trustee from the University of Illinois at Chicago, was absent. President Timothy L. Killeen joined the meeting at 11:44 a.m.

Also present were Ms. Dedra M. Williams, secretary of the Board of Trustees and of the University; Mr. Mark D. Henss, deputy University counsel; Mr. Thomas P. Hardy, executive director for University relations; Mr. Brian T. Metzger, assistant director, Administrative Information Technology Services; Ms. Jami M. Painter, assistant vice president for human resources, University Administration; Dr. Antoinette Burton, chair of the search committee; and Dr. Jan Greenwood, Greenwood/Asher and Associates Inc.

### MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 9:02 a.m., Mr. McMillan stated, "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider University employment or appointmentrelated matters." On motion of Mr. Montgomery, seconded by Ms. Holmes, the motion was approved. There were no "nay" votes.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

# A CONTINUING NEED FOR CONFIDENTIALITY EXISTS FOR THIS SECTION.

## 2016]

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION ADJOURNED**

The executive session adjourned at 1:26 p.m.

### MOTION TO ADJOURN

Mr. McMillan requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. On motion of Ms. Smart, seconded by Ms. Hasara, the meeting adjourned at 1:27 p.m. There were no "nay" votes.

DEDRA M. WILLIAMS Secretary Edward L. McMillan Chair