OF THE

## UNIVERSITY OF ILLINOIS

November 16, 2018



This special meeting of the Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois was held in Michèle M. Thompson Rooms B and C, UIC Student Center West, 828 South Wolcott Avenue, Chicago, Illinois, on Friday, November 16, 2018, beginning at 9:00 a.m.

Chair Timothy N. Koritz called the meeting to order and asked the secretary to call the roll. The following members of the Board were present: Mr. Ramón Cepeda, Dr. Stuart C. King, Dr. Timothy N. Koritz, Mr. Edward L. McMillan, Mr. James D. Montgomery, Mr. Sanford E. Perl, Ms. Jill B. Smart. Mr. Donald J. Edwards, Mr. Patrick J. Fitzgerald, and Governor Bruce Rauner were absent. Ms. Shaina Humphrey, voting student trustee, Springfield, was absent. The following nonvoting student trustees were also absent: Mr. Trayshawn M. W. Mitchell, Urbana, and Mr. Darius M. Newsome, Chicago. President Timothy L. Killeen was present.

Also present were Mr. Thomas R. Bearrows, University counsel; Ms. Dedra M. Williams, secretary of the Board of Trustees and of the University; and Ms. C. Ellen Foran, associate secretary.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Mr. Montgomery arrived at 9:01 a.m.

 $<sup>^2\</sup>mathrm{Pursuant}$  to the University of Illinois Trustees Act (110 ILCS 310/1), student trustees shall not consider matters involving employment or compensation.

### MOTION FOR EXECUTIVE SESSION

At 9:01 a.m., Dr. Koritz stated: "A motion is now in order to hold an executive session to consider University employment or appointment-related matters."

On motion of Dr. King, seconded by Ms. Smart, this motion was approved. There were no "nay" votes.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

# A CONTINUING NEED FOR CONFIDENTIALITY EXISTS FOR THIS SECTION.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION ADJOURNED**

The executive session adjourned at 1:22 p.m.

### **REGULAR MEETING RESUMED**

The meeting resumed at 1:23 p.m., with all Board members previously recorded as being present in attendance.

### **MOTION TO ADJOURN**

At 1:23 p.m., Dr. Koritz requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. On motion of Mr. McMillan, seconded by Mr. Montgomery, the meeting adjourned.

 $\begin{array}{c} \text{Dedra M. Williams} \\ \textit{Secretary} \end{array}$ 

Тімотну N. Koritz Chair